DEV Community

Justin Poehnelt for Google Maps Platform

Posted on • Originally published at justin.poehnelt.com on

Google Maps React Wrapper

The package @googlemaps/react-wrapper is a wrapper component that helps load the Google Maps JavaScript API. Below is a short snippet demonstrating usage.

import { Wrapper, Status } from "@googlemaps/react-wrapper";

const render = (status: Status): ReactElement => {
  if (status === Status.LOADING) return <Spinner />;
  if (status === Status.FAILURE) return <ErrorComponent />;
  return null;
};

const MyApp = () => (
  <Wrapper apiKey={"YOUR_API_KEY"} render={render}>
    <MyMapComponent />
  </Wrapper>
);
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Recently I livecoded its usage and created google.maps.Map and google.maps.Marker components.

If you have any questions about its usage, please feel free to open an issue on GitHub.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
gnutyud profile image
Tung Nguyen Duy

Hi Justin Poehnelt, I was find the way to contact with you then I found your personal website and go here.
I was following this repo to implement google map ODRD (on demand rides and deliveries) in my React app. But I got an issue that I've created a question here. I do not know how to stop the api call to feetengine to get trip info when component unmount. Hope you can help me out. Thanks