DEV Community

Cover image for 👨‍💻 Daily Code 52 | +1 & -1 Buttons in 🟨 JavaScript
Gregor Schafroth
Gregor Schafroth

Posted on

👨‍💻 Daily Code 52 | +1 & -1 Buttons in 🟨 JavaScript

So today I just gave me a JS exercise so easy that I could do the whole thing without even opening ChatGPT once. And I was able to do it! It’s a totally oversimplified calculator that can only do +1 and -1. Perhaps I should try to do more complicated calculators as exercises in the future, but anyways, right now I am very happy with this one!

My Code

<!DOCTYPE html>
<html lang="en">

<head>
    <meta charset="UTF-8">
    <meta name="viewport" content="width=device-width, initial-scale=1.0">
    <title>+1 & -1 buttons</title>
</head>

<body>
    <button id="js-plus-one">+1</button>
    <button id="js-minus-one">-1</button>
    <div id="js-result">0</div>
    <script>
        let result = 0
        document.getElementById('js-plus-one').onclick = function () {
            result++;
            document.getElementById('js-result').textContent = result;
        }
        document.getElementById('js-minus-one').onclick = function () {
            result--;
            document.getElementById('js-result').textContent = result;
        }

    </script>
</body>

</html>
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Nothing complicated about this really. It was just all a syntax exercise. And I’m happy to report that I’m by now getting really familiar with this.

That’s it for today. See you in the next one 😊

Top comments (0)