DEV Community

Stephen Gault
Stephen Gault

Posted on

10 Year Challenge - 2009 - 2019

So I have never written an article anywhere before and just thought about this new trend for the 10 year challenge of photos on the multitude of social media at the moment.

How about a 10 year challenge of code history:-

2009 - I can honestly say that ten years ago I knew less than nothing on how to code of any kind. I was just starting university as a mature student (hah) in Liverpool and studying a foundation degree course in engineering and technology. At that point I had almost no interest in code, I wanted to build a website but for nothing more than a digital cv. When it came to doing the basics in c# of hello world, I thought this is the dogs proverbials.

2019 - Working as Software Engineer mainly working the front end ui using a codestack of react, c#, dotnet core and a whole lot of experience from being in different environments. Iwould advise anyone getting started o find a mentor who can see what your good at and not and help steer your desire those directions. I thought i wanted to be a pure backend dev but quickly realised I had a knack for the visual aspects and was actually quite crap at the backend programming.

So let me know your journey. Mine began after 4 years in uni so i am still very much on the beginning of my career at the tender age of 38 (good gods where di the time go)

Top comments (0)