DEV Community

gus
gus

Posted on

Icon Living

My latest open source endeavour has been to work on the updated Seneca College IPC144 course notes. IPC144 is a class I hold dear to my heart and have fond memories of, for introducing me to C and programming concepts in general. When I took the course back in 2017 I didn't have a laptop yet and would print out reams of these notes to study at work, so I'm intimately familiar with the notes and their endearingly dated aesthetic. I'm excited to be able to modernize them and help introduce them to the next crop of students who (studying from home I'm assuming) will hopefully have the privilege of viewing them on a computer as God intended, taking full advantage of the technical care myself and the other contributors have put into them.

The first issue I tackled was finding better resolution icons for the site.

Image description

There were 2 icons present, a 192x192 icon and a 512x512 icon, which were both about as scuffed as the one pictured above (I no longer have the old ones this is just an artistic recreation). I found an image of the Seneca logo online, took the S from that and cleaned it up, creating the 512x512 version to go off of.

Image description

I made a 192x192 copy and submitted a pull request to get it merged with the main branch. My prof and another student requested some changes (all icon sizes, updated manifest.json and docusaurus.config.js) so I generated the other icon sizes and changed the relevant files. I requested another review, and my changes were accepted and merged! So ended the first of my IPC144 contributions.

This was a pretty easy PR to complete, all it involved was some quick photoshopping and some changes in a few lines of code. My next line item for the IPC144 notes will be auditing and fixing the notes on expressions, which I'm guessing will be a little more involved. More on that to come soon!

Top comments (0)