DEV Community

Cover image for Fast Storage - Netlify Blob challenge
Hai Le Gia
Hai Le Gia

Posted on

Fast Storage - Netlify Blob challenge

This is a submission for the Netlify Dynamic Site Challenge: Build with Blobs.

What I Built

I want to build a webapp to support freelancer, software engineers to host their digital products quickly for their MVP. Previously, I would host my downloadable resources on S3 and share with my customers or put it into my landing pages. However, I hate the fact that I have to update this link on all my pages every time when I update new version of the file.

So what I want to have is:

  1. Easily create a product with a downloadable digital file.
  2. Get a fixed + permanent link for the product. Every time I update the product by uploading a new file, the link won't need to be changed.
  3. Able to create an auto expiration link for a product so that I can use it for any email or promotion campaigns. The link will live for a period that I defined and then it will be invalidated without me doing any thing.

Demo

All the features I built in last few days are listed in this landing page here: https://regal-madeleine-9b4642.netlify.app/

A quick look of a few screens showing the features:

Mobile screens to add/update products

Mobile screens

Expirable link creation

Image description

Platform Primitives

I'm using Netlify Blobs to store both the products' photo and binary files. The products and the Blobs' keys are then stored into a DynamoDB table so that I can manage them properly.

DynamoDB also comes handy with the ability to expire an item. I used this for the short-live link features.

I'm using Next.js Image so it will leverage Netlify Image CDN as well.

Here is a cover image for my landing page

Landing Page

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
philiphow profile image
Philip How • Edited