DEV Community

Cover image for WMAD Assignment Week 1
Yuta Hamasaki
Yuta Hamasaki

Posted on

WMAD Assignment Week 1

Helloooooo!!!
My name is Yuta H amasaki. This is my first post on this blog site and my first assignment!! In this article, I will talk...

  • About me

  • My expectation of the current course

  • About the courses so far

  • About my goal

  • My projects so far

About Me

I am Yuta Hamasaki. I was born and grew up in Japan. I grew up in Kagawa which is famous for Udon noodles. I lived there for 18 years until University.
I lived for 4 years in Kyoto for University. Now, I came here to Canada right after graduated University in Japan. My major was Global Studies and I studied global business, international politics, and something related to them. The reason why I decided to learn Web development at Cornerstone College is my experience from the business course at my university. I had an opportunity to learn a little bit of programming and web design there. I really enjoyed those classes and started to want to learn more about web development. I would like to focus on front-end and want to become a front-end developer.

My expectation of the current course

I have already learned programming by myself and a bit in university and made a few apps, so I know the general flow of the program, but there are still some parts that are unclear, so I want to learn them well. Not only study programming but I also would like to gain knowledge and experience in team development through this course.
What I'm most excited to learn is Next.js and Typescript. I have already learned Next.js and found it really convenient but I still don't understand enough. I always developed with Javascript so I am really curious to learn typescript which is the trend these days.

About the courses so far

I'm satisfied with this course because this is what I really wanted to study for a long time and studying it in English is my ideal environment. In my previous University, all the professors taught us in English. This helps me enjoy this environment. I am really bad at converting but that class stimulates my intellectual curiosity. Even the topic I have already learned is a really good opportunity to review and understand more deeply.

My goal after this course

I'm aiming to be a world-class front-end developer. I would like to work in this industry around the world. To achieve this, I believe that having new knowledge all the time is important because this industry is always growing and changing. During this course, I would like to gain this mindset that is always updating my knowledge and welcoming new things.

My work

I am still new to making products but I would like to develop next-level quality products through this course term!! I'm so shy to show them but it is helpful if you give me feedback!

My Portfolio site
Image description
This is my portfolio and I made it with Next.js and Tailwindcss. I am planning to re-new my portfolio site soon because I am really interested in frontend development and I think my current page is too plain.

Spreaky
Image description
This is a web application in which you can practice speaking English. I used React, Firebase, Spripe Api, and OpenAi API.
If you want to practice for an English speaking test or an English Job interview, please use this app and give me feedback!!
If you are on a Paid plan, AI will correct your English.

I love what I am learning

To practice programming, I believe that developing a service or tool that you want to make is an efficient way. I made them by learning the programming language and framework. I love this way because I can see my effort. My favorite moment is when one of my products comes in search results. (Search "Spreaky").

Image description

Thank you for reading!

Shared with Rocky and Kazu

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
rockyueno0223 profile image
"Rocky" Hiroki Ueno

It's so clear that what kind of person you are and what you think right now. I can know well about you from this article. Let's work together!

Collapse
 
kazuchikayanagi profile image
KazuchikaYanagi

your article is readable so that it sums up preciously and concisely!
I could feel strong passion to be good programmer through this course😀
Let's cooperate and help each other!