DEV Community

Hamsa Abdullah
Hamsa Abdullah

Posted on • Updated on

Nevertheless, Hamsa Coded

This is the first time ever I write something in shecoded, I was too shy and hesitant to do so, I didn't feel I was good enough or if I belonged to this group of people.

Back Then

Looking at where we are now, comparing it to when I went to the Computer Engineering school in 1999, we have come a very long way, yes there is a lot to work on for a better future, to be considered equal, but we have walked a very long way and we have to celebrate what we did and know that we should never give up.

I loved working as a QA, however what actually made me be a QA was that the market back then when I graduated in 2004 didn't see women good enough to code, it was difficult to find a job as a dev in the Middle East when you are a woman, however easier to get one as a QA or a BA, so I did.

Now, I never hated my job, always loved what I was doing, but I wanted to write code, but I never thought I was good enough!
I started learning automation, and after a while moved out of the middle east and became a team lead .. But I still wanted to do more, I want code as a dev, but am I good enough?!

Now

Although I am a team lead, where I work now @ thinkific I was given the opportunity to actually learn how to code as a dev and to set a learning path for myself, I learned to trust how smart I am and to follow my passion!

I am surrounded by a group of an amazing supportive women (and men), badass women, that I am proud to be their colleague and proud that they are my friends.
I am still learning and it is a slow progress because I have my main role as a lead that I love and am expected to do, but regardless of everything, I am coding and proud and very happy about it :)

A small advice

Never give up on your dreams, find a job that will empower you and help you grow, surround yourself by people who believe in you and push you to achieve your dreams.
Give back to your community, always be supportive to others, and be kind, encourage people to try something that they wanted to learn, challenge them out of their comfort zone and let them know you believe in them :)

Top comments (0)