DEV Community

Verena
Verena

Posted on

coding and discipline

Dear readers,
this is my first post on this platform! 🎉
I made this account, to talk about my coding journey (and to finally learn how to code and get to know others). The journey started a long time ago, but I never got very far. In all honesty, I'm lazy and I get distracted very easily. I think this got worse with the birth of social media. I'll always need to check if someone saw my Instagram story, if there is something new on Twitter. Sometimes, I take breaks from social media. I'm getting better. I don't want to read bad news on this global thingy you know what, that's going around the world since the beginning of 2020. Reading about it still makes me scared. But sometimes it pops up on Twitter and as if I need it, I read tweets and replies and down I go.
I just want to enjoy social media again and share my thoughts, especially on my coding journey and other things I'm interested in (like books and knitting and drawing).
But this place here? This is about coding.

Last year, I bought a pro account on codecademy because I thought, if I buy something, I'll use it regularly. Well... no. I managed to finish a few courses: "Learn Swift", "Learn Intermediate Swift", and "Introduction to UI and UX Design". I also did a skill path on building an app with SwiftUI and currently I'm doing the skill path on intermediate iOS app building (not going well; I lost interest, but that's because of the course itself) as well as "Analyze Data with R" (I want to use R for my master's thesis and learnt in two years ago in university, so I want to refresh my memory and little knowledge I have).

What I really want to do is building an app for iOS. Something practical. Or a web app using Ruby on Rails (my husband is a Rails developer). I even attended a Rails Girls event in Cologne in 2012. But it seems as if Rails Girls doesn't exists anymore which is a pity. Even if I wouldn't want to attend a workshop or event in-person, I'd love to do some remote workshops or something like that. I think what I need is a strong community to motivate me, to help me get started and to mentor me.

Recently, I bought "You belong in Tech" by Anna J. McDougall. Since I don't know what I want to do after I finish university (which is soon) and I'm thinking of working in tech, but without a degree in computer science. Maybe testing? UX/UI?
But this will be the topic of another post...

For now, please share your tipps on how to get motivated and maybe you have some experiences with online courses like codecademy. I'd love to hear your stories.

Top comments (0)