DEV Community

has12zen
has12zen

Posted on

KWoC Project Report

About KWoC

KWOC — Kharagpur Winter of Code is a 5-week long online program organized by KOSS for the students of various colleges, especially for students of IIT Kharagpur, who are new to open source software development.

The Projects I contributed to

During KWoC I contributed to two projects web-development-Resource, url-shortener.

web-development-Resource

Under the direction of my Mentor, I started working on resources of Node.Js, and HTML. In this project, I collected resources and organized them in a structure.
Screenshot (20)

url-shortener

I worked on making the basic structure of the URL-shortener Chrome extension this extension uses Rebrandly API to shorten URLs and also gives QR code for scanning the current URL.

Screenshot (49)

My experience with KWoC

I had quite a good time working on projects in KWoC I always wanted to work on Open source and KWoC finally gave me the push that I needed to get started. I also learned how to effectively communicate with mentors and peers during working on these projects.

Links to the Repos I contributed to

Closed PR's

Used Rebrandly API to shorten link and updated UI #14

Pull request template for the-browser-toolbox/url-shortener.

Create a pull request to add your new features or bug fixes.

Description

Used rebrandly API to shorten the URL and also added Qr code panel to display the current page as Qr code

Related Issue

Please link to the related issue here.

Proposed Changes:

  1. using Rebradly API
  2. Adding Qr code panel

Screenshots

Updated Screenshot Screenshot (50)

Screenshot (47)

Screenshot (48)

Screenshot (49)

Please use the Gitter channel to update about your pull request.

Top comments (0)