DEV Community

HaxNet
HaxNet

Posted on • Updated on

ArchLinux & CUPS

It has been a long time since I posted something.
One big reason I had to stick with Windows at work was printing stuff. I got a brand new mini PC with 16GB with Windows 11.

I decided to dual boot with Arch Linux (ArchLabs) because I had to install it quickly. I am using i3 with it.

To install your wireless printer:

For quickness I installed YAY as my installer

  1. In terminal: yay cups or just sudo pacman -S cups
  2. add yourself to the lp group; a. sudo su b. usermod -aG lp {username} c. exit
  3. sudo systemctl enable cups.service
  4. sudo systemctl start cups.service
  5. reboot
  6. download the driver by searching through the AUR repo.
  7. Go to browser and type in "localhost:631" without the quotes
  8. Find printer
  9. Add the printer
  10. change the connection to ipp://ip.addr.of.printer/ipp or

lpd://ip.addr.of.printer/queue/ <~ this one seems to be working better.

That's it.

It took me a long time to get this figured out.

If you don't know how to get the address of your printer, I would suggest go to the printer and print a report of the printer, the newer printers typically has the network information. If that doesn't work, go to your modem/router admin page to find it that way.

I also post this for my future self.

Top comments (0)