DEV Community

HaxNet
HaxNet

Posted on

What software for taking Notes?

There are plenty of apps to use for taking notes, but my favorite is Vim.

This is the most customizable for me. I can change color schemes to my liking. Plus I can easily access it right from my terminal.

I also use Joplin that uses markdown, simple note for the simplicity and able to easily access from my cellphone and across multiple platforms.

Top comments (8)

Collapse
 
dz4k profile image
Deniz Akşimşek

I'm alpha-testing Anytype, a privacy-respecting Notion alternative. It syncs your pages and files (and soon: contact cards, databases and more) without going through a server. You can come join us in the Telegram group, and join the waiting list! New testers are picked randomly every month or so.

Collapse
 
fractalis profile image
Scott Rallya • Edited

I've been a huge fan of BoostNote - it supports MarkDown and Syntax Highlighting for code snippets. They also have some simple support for PlantUML, and it appears it also supports TeX as well (though I haven't really tested that out at all). Overall a great app with lots of nice features. I downloaded the app from the GitHub - BoostNote and not Boostnote.io - not sure if they are different apps but the latter utilizes cloud storage to store your notes and offers a variety of free/premium plans that you may or may not be interested in.

Collapse
 
kmistele profile image
Kyle Mistele

I'm a big fan of Notable. It lets you take notes in markdown, it supports github-flavor code syntax highlighting, and lots of other features. It's simple and easy to use.

Collapse
 
smitthakkar profile image
Smit Thakkar

OneNote is a very good option.
You can sync across devices and the notebook setup is great.
The only bummer: No markdown support. :(

Collapse
 
haxnet profile image
HaxNet

Yeah but it's microsoft. Not customizable

Collapse
 
gustavoadriangimenez profile image
GustavoAdrianGimenez

Try Notion, it's great!

Collapse
 
haxnet profile image
HaxNet

I'll definitely check it out! Thanks

Collapse
 
ardroh profile image
AD

Check Typora. It's a markdown editor with a visual support for both text and images.