DEV Community

Hayley Anderson
Hayley Anderson

Posted on

Nevertheless, Hayley Anderson Coded

I began coding because...

My part-time job in college required getting events posted with HTML onto a barebones website. I was supposed to have an intern post them, but then I discovered he was taking a long time because he didn't know HTML. I didn't either, but I thought, if he could do it, then I wanted to do it myself. And once I started coding, I started wondering why on earth I was doing anything else.

I'm currently hacking on...

The API and organizer experience at Meetup. Yep... three years later, I'm working on events again. And at a company that was instrumental to me during the process of learning to code and growing as a developer. I <3 it.

I'm excited about...

Taking on more responsibility and learning how to better prioritize and communicate to make beneficial decisions for the business rather than just the code.

My advice for other women who code is...

Don't just have a Fuck Off Fund. Also get yourself a Fuck Off Portfolio, Fuck Off Connections, and a Fuck Off Attitude, and learn to recognize when you need to use them ASAP.

Top comments (0)