DEV Community

Justin Clenista
Justin Clenista

Posted on

heyoitsJuice dev log: 01

As I am currently writing this, I am running on no sleep as I have successfully? pulled an all-nighter working on a few projects.

In my "To new beginnings..." blog post, I had told myself that I needed to take accountability, which would be in the form of updating my resume.

Now for the reason I am running on no sleep:

  • Updating/Revamping one of my very first "real" projects in a weather forecast app

For a take-home coding challenge for an internship, I needed to create a five day / three-hour weather forecast application utilizing an api and showcase it to a group of devs.

I could essentially use any technologies I wanted, but the main caveat for this challenge was that I needed to use React.

At that time, I knew zero React. Luckily, I had a bit of a foundation in HTML, CSS, and Javascript. With my foundation, I was given a week to not only teach myself React, but make a full-blown application with it.

It definitely wasn't the smoothest experience, but it was a very memorable one. From all the google searches, stackoverflow posts, and youtube videos, I had managed to scrape by and not only "learn" React, but "build" an application.

It wasn't the prettiest app, nor was it the most responsive, but it was my app, as corny as that sounds.

Fast forward a year and half or so and here I am revisiting that said challenge.

My original weather forecast app consisted of:

  • React, MaterialUI, Styled-Components, Bootstrap, and Axios.

If you're curious as to what it looks like you can visit it Here

NOTE: (Sadly it's not deployed, so you'll have to run it yourself. I'll eventually upload a picture of it, but for now I'm on my last waking moment finishing up writing this)

With a little more knowledge and experience under my belt, I wanted to address the problem of the UI while utilizing new technologies.

As a result, I decided on a new front-end stack of:

  • React, ChakraUI, NextJS while still using Axios for API calls

After around 15 hours of total elapsed time, I "finished" the challenge and you can have a look at it Here

With one project down, I can finally add this to my Works section of my portfolio website, which will be talked about in another dev log.

Top comments (0)