DEV Community

Anguram Shanmugam
Anguram Shanmugam

Posted on • Updated on

React or React Native?

Hey πŸ‘½'s

I started React-Native for two todays. Which is very easy since it has same ReactJs features.

But now I'm confused. Because the styles and codes are totally native codes. How Can I achieve the cross platform support feature i.e., Web.

Also the doc specifies about React-Native_web.

What's the Dealio?

Top comments (8)

Collapse
 
valeriavg profile image
Valeria

If you want web app that is also a phone app you better go with progressive web apps. Otherwise you end up with overcomplicated code for web.

Collapse
 
heyprotagonist profile image
Anguram Shanmugam • Edited

I had that thought too.

But I believe my grandPa won't prefer browser over local apps πŸ€”πŸ€”πŸ€”

Of course they're awesome. But my target audience won't prefer that.

Collapse
 
valeriavg profile image
Valeria

If your grandpa uses android there's no difference, except the installation process (which is go to a site and tap a button vs go to play store, search for app, tap a button)

Thread Thread
 
heyprotagonist profile image
Anguram Shanmugam

It's hard to explain. But I'll try this πŸ‘

Collapse
 
ivan_jrmc profile image
Ivan Jeremic

React-Native is not for the Web. However there are some projects out there that allow you to write RN Web and have it full cross-platform.

Collapse
 
heyprotagonist profile image
Anguram Shanmugam

So, you're telling that, I should reWrite my whole web-app according to React-Native in order to get a native support?

Collapse
 
ivan_jrmc profile image
Ivan Jeremic • Edited

This is the project that allows you to write RN components on the web and have same project for apps this is how I understand it github.com/necolas/react-native-web

Thread Thread
 
heyprotagonist profile image
Anguram Shanmugam

Thanks πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘