DEV Community

Ky Huynh
Ky Huynh

Posted on

My first journey on the Open source world

Alt Text

About me

Hi, guys! 👋
I am Ky Huynh.

Currently, I'm a Java developer and also a newcomer in the open-source community.

Chance 🚀

I encountered Hacktoberfest via my teammate. He encouraged me to join this event, he promised that I will get a ton of funs and also gain knowledge. Obviously, my eagerness growing rapidly. OK, Let's make a start !!!!

Contributions 🐇

Firstly, I'm a newcomer so I decided that I will take on some challenges which for the newbie. I research with the query:

"label:hacktoberfest is:issue is:open label:"good first issue"" 
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode


to filter out it. If you also a newbie like me, for the 1st - 2nd issues, you can take an easy one but then you can challenge yourself without "good first issue".

Besides, I set the goal that I want to get more experience on this journey so I conducted to work on 4 different repositories. I finished three first PRs at the early of this month but the fourth PR is finished by the end of the month. In case you wish to get a T-shirt, you should have 4 pull requests in the middle of the month because the event will take 15 days to validate your PRs. Please note that!

Reflections

It was an amazing event for us who are programmers. It is a playground where brings substantial benefits. I am elation after I completely finished the challenge for this year not about the award but also the mindset for contributing to open source. Certainly, I will join in next year.
Last but not least, thank you who created the Hacktoberfest event for us.
See you soon.

Hacktoberfest spread the world !!!

Top comments (0)