DEV Community

Cover image for Not Another Productivity Hack
Hieu Nguyen
Hieu Nguyen

Posted on

Not Another Productivity Hack

When I was younger, most of my time spent writing code, with 5 hours of sleep a day. I often read about productivity hacks, hope to squeeze a little more works. But nothing really works.

Having an unhealthy lifestyle drained my energy. In the past year, even if I wanted to, I can't do it anymore. I need more breaks, more sleep, and more time away from the projects.

Turn out, it was for the better.

Most personal productivity hacks are to kick-start some unused parts of our energy. But when you have already drained them out, there is no more energy to kick-start. You're just working too much.

My change of habit helps me feel much better.

Almost every day, I sleep 7:30+ hours, often have a noon nap for a productive afternoon. I started to eat on time, 3 meals a day. For the last year, I exercise after work, at least 5 times a week, 30 mins each.

In case you're drained out, and looking for productivity hacks. Maybe you don't need one. Maybe all you need is to take care of yourself better.

Sleep more, eat more, be healthier

Posted on Not Another Productivity Hack β€” Hieu's Blog

Top comments (0)