DEV Community

HiteshDhamshaniya
HiteshDhamshaniya

Posted on • Updated on

9 short stories worth reading

9 short stories worth reading, feeling and forwarding to all those dear to you

  1. FALL and RISE
    Today, when I slipped on the wet tile floor a boy in a wheelchair caught me before I slammed my head on the ground. He said, “Believe it or not, that’s almost exactly how I injured my back 3 years ago .

  2. A FATHER’S ADVICE
    Today, my father told me, “Just go for it and give it a try! You don’t have to be a professional to build a successful product. Amateurs started Google and Apple. Professionals built the Titanic

  3. The POWER of UNIQUENESS
    Today, I asked my mentor — a very successful business man in his 70’s — what his top 3 tips are for success. He smiled and said, “Read something no one else is reading, think something no one else is thinking, and do something no one else is doing.

  4. LOOKING BACK
    Today, I interviewed my grandmother for part of a research paper I’m working on for my Psychology class. When I asked her to define success in her own words, she said, “Success is when you look back at your life and the memories make you smile.

  5. TRY and YOU shall KNOW
    I am blind by birth. When I was 8 years old, I wanted to play baseball. I asked my father- “Dad, can I play baseball?” He said “You’ll never know until you try.” When I was a teenager, I asked him, — “Dad Can I become a surgeon?”. He replied “Son, you’ll never know until you try.” Today I am a Surgeon, just because I tried!

  6. GOODNESS & GRATITUDE
    Today, after a 72 hour shift at the fire station, a woman ran up to me at the grocery store and gave me a hug. When I tensed up, she realized I didn’t recognize her. She let go with tears of joy in her eyes and the most sincere smile and said, “On 9–11–2001, you carried me out of world trade centre.

  7. LOOKING BACK
    Today, as my father, three brothers, and two sisters stood around my mother’s hospital bed, my mother uttered her last coherent words before she died. She simply said, “I feel so loved right now. We should have gotten together like this more often.”

  8. AFFECTION
    Today, I kissed my dad on the forehead as he passed away in a small hospital bed. About 5 seconds after he passed, I realized it was the first time I had given him a kiss since I was a little boy.

  9. SHARING
    Today, I was traveling in Kenya and I met a refugee from Zimbabwe. He said he hadn’t eaten anything in over 3 days and looked extremely skinny and unhealthy. Then my friend offered him the rest of the sandwich he was eating. The first thing the man said was, “We can share it.”

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
rosannjackson profile image
RosannJackson

I am looking at a website that seems to be selling short stories. I am wondering if I could use the same code to sell short stories on Amazon. Could you please help me with this?

Collapse
 
subbramanil profile image
Subbu Lakshmanan • Edited

Great Pointers Hitesh!! With a proper title and appropriate tags, the blog can attract a lot of people.

P.S:

‘#android’ is an irrelevant tag to the blog and confuses people.

Collapse
 
hiteshpatel1142 profile image
HiteshDhamshaniya

Thanks for pointing it out, I didn't put it intentionally.

Collapse
 
subbramanil profile image
Subbu Lakshmanan

Yeah. I also thought so. Now the blog title and tags makes a lot of sense. 👍

Was reading articles tagged with android and was thrown in confusion in the first time when I read the blog.

Thread Thread
 
hiteshpatel1142 profile image
HiteshDhamshaniya

Thanks for understanding, I am an Android application developer and I just started to write about Android, but this is something about of syllabus and its not my word but its something which touch my heart so I decided to put it on dev.to but due to hurry I couldn't cross check all the thing and I made mistake, sorry for that, and Thanks again for draw my attention.