DEV Community

hluis91
hluis91

Posted on

My first post and thoughts on my journey to being a Software Engineer.

I started the Software Engineering course on September 17th 2022. I recently finished a Data Analytics bootcamp the week prior with UCI. Doing the prework for the bootcamp was not as difficult as I thought due to my experience with Javascript, HTML, CSS and GitHub with the Data Analytics bootcamp. I learned enough basics to get me this far. As I am going through the first phase of the program, it is getting to be a bit difficult. Writing functions for Javascript is not an easy task. I do however have a B.S. of Science in Mathematics, so when I write functions I can understand the structure and logic behind it but writing the function is the toughest part. If I get stuck I rely on resources provided by lessons or get a tutor to help me out. Being an educator myself has made me realize to take advantage of every resource provided and that everyone needs help at some point. I am excited to see what is coming in the future and hope to hone my skills so I can land a job in June 2023. I find this very interesting and are excited to do the work since the structure of the course is very concise and easy to understand. Thank you for reading this long blog and have a good day!!

-Hernandez

Top comments (0)