DEV Community

Chris Wagner
Chris Wagner

Posted on

What are the best Funniest code comments in the source code you have ever found?

We have surfed the internet and hand-picked a few best code comments that the developers have written in their codes:

https://hostingpill.com/funny-code-comments/

Please share your findings if you have any.

Top comments (17)

Collapse
 
rafi993 profile image
Rafi • Edited
Collapse
 
khrome83 profile image
Zane Milakovic

Just wow.

Now I want a monkey, even though I don’t have any hair. You think I can train it to trim my beard....

Collapse
 
khrome83 profile image
Zane Milakovic • Edited

// not sure why the F*** this works - don’t touch

Collapse
 
thatblairguy profile image
That Blair Guy

// No comment

Collapse
 
jdmedlock profile image
Jim Medlock
// Abandon hope all ye who enter here
Collapse
 
lukasderksen profile image
Lukas Derksen

// TODO: Write something interesting here

Not sure what program I found this in, but it was during a malware analysis on a desktop we received from a client. I was looking through the strings of every process that was being executed on the machine to see if it'd be malicious. I was analyzing a Windows service when I encountered that comment, so I verified the executable hashes, scanned it in every possible way, just to find out that it is completely genuine. So somewhere, there is a Microsoft developer who left that comment in production code for some background service.

Collapse
 
omerlahav profile image
Omer Lahav • Edited

I developed a Wordpress plugin once, and I put pokemon names as lorem ipsum in a form there. Making it production-ready, I just removed the pokemons from the actual form but left different pokemon names in comments in different files of the plugin instead.

Collapse
 
hostingpill profile image
Chris Wagner

Lol!

Collapse
 
david_j_eddy profile image
David J Eddy • Edited
/* they made me do it. */
Collapse
 
mlimonczenko profile image
Miranda • Edited

Immediately came to mind:

// In alphabetical order:
Here follows YAML not in alphabetical order
Collapse
 
overlordex3 profile image
Exequiel Beker

Working on embedded, on a Hard Fault handler.

    while(1)
    {
        /* Wait here until god of death
         * came for us. */
    }
Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza • Edited

From personal experience, I've seen a maze (made from '-'s and '|'s) at the top and description NONE SHALL PASS!

He/She a Monty Python fan, I guess ;)

Collapse
 
embrycode profile image
Mason Embry

// TODO: Not this

Collapse
 
badoorxp profile image
Bader B

That was a good read πŸ˜‚

Collapse
 
hostingpill profile image
Chris Wagner

thanks...

Collapse
 
zaarthur profile image
Artur • Edited

/* where the world ends */

Here:
github.com/postgres/postgres/blob/...

Collapse
 
matteojoliveau profile image
Matteo Joliveau

The desperate cry for forgiveness
comment