DEV Community

Cover image for Adding new features to an open-source project
Henrique Sagara
Henrique Sagara

Posted on

Adding new features to an open-source project

Contributing to an open-source project is exciting, but it can also be challenging—especially when adding new features.
I just started in Open-Source development and I tried my best to make a quick rundown of what it’s like and some of the key challenges I faced and some tips on how to overcome.

Understanding Someone Else’s Code

The first challenge I ran into is just understanding how the code works. When you’re looking at someone else’s project, it’s not always clear how things are structured or why certain decisions were made. I spent a lot of time just trying to figure out how everything fits together.

What helps:

Read the documentation: Go through the code piece by piece: Don’t try to understand everything at once.
Ask questions: If the project has a community, don’t hesitate to reach out.

Testing the Code Before Adding Anything

Before I add any new features, I make sure I understand how the existing code works. I’ll run the project and see if everything functions as expected. If there’s a testing system in place (like unit tests), I run those too. This helps me avoid breaking anything while I’m working.

What helps:

Set up a local development environment: This can take some time but is important to get things running properly.

Check for existing tests: Running tests gives me confidence that I won’t accidentally mess things up.

Understand dependencies: Sometimes, the project uses external libraries that I need to get familiar with.

Following the Project's Coding Style

Once I understand the code and have everything running, it’s time to add the feature. But I can’t just write code however I like—I need to follow the project's style and format so my code fits in with what’s already there. Every project has its own way of doing things, from how functions are named to how the code is formatted.

What helps:

Look at existing code: I try to match my new code to the patterns I see in the project.

Understanding GitHub Helps a Lot

Being comfortable with GitHub can make this process a lot smoother. Knowing how to fork a project, create branches, and make pull requests is essential for contributing to open-source projects.

Wrapping Up

Adding a new feature to an open-source project isn’t always easy, but it’s a great way to learn and improve as a developer. By understanding the existing code, testing everything, and following the project’s style, I can make sure my contribution adds value without causing problems.

It was really challenged, but pretty rewarding at the end.

Top comments (0)