DEV Community

Haikal Azmi
Haikal Azmi

Posted on

Is it okay to build portfolio not using my own ideas?

Hi, I'm beginning to build my own portfolio and I've been searching for ideas and I've found it.

So I kinda like, use that template BUT, I didn't just copy the whole thing and leave it like that, I improvise the site to my own likings, like added some css elements such as typewriter effect, added some components to showcase my skills.

The point is, I added some of my own ideas to a template to make the site as my portfolio, it's acceptable, right? Or people will judge like, "euw, are you even a developer?", "go get a creative mind bro"?

I need some feedbacks and yeah, if you wanna see, just let me know, thanks!

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
dlim87 profile image
Daniel Lim

Design and development are separate (but complementary) skills. If you're adding additional features it's totally legit to build on that base