DEV Community

Hycord
Hycord

Posted on

How do I write a blog post?

In lieu of me recently writing my new website I realized that I don't really know how to write a good blog post.

I know that blogging is a good thing to do as a new/young developer (I'm only 16) but I just don't know what to write, or how to make it look good.
As you can see if you go to the link I provided, the blog post I have looks horrible, and the content isn't much better.
I just don't know how I can improve what I have going on right now.

For context:
_I currently don't have my laptop and am working off the chrombook my school gave me, so I have to use github pages right now, I'm more so asking for basic styling tips, and what content I should have, over something like _

Oh, you should add authentication so everyone can do blah blah blah
I just want some basic pointers and feedback on what I made last night lol
Thanks to anyone who takes the time to read this and respond

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
andrewbaisden profile image
Andrew Baisden • Edited

I have an article on topic ideas for writers 100 blog topic ideas for your next article - No more writers block.

I can give you a quick tip on how to get better at writing blog posts. Take a look at the best articles that you can find on here and on other websites. Then you should be able to figure out some good writing styles that could work for you.

Writing blog posts is like writing news stories you can get inspiration from just reading the news on news websites and seeing how those writers do it.

Collapse
 
hycord profile image
Hycord

I guess a lot of what I run into is what to actually write about, but I'll take a look at that article, thankyou!