DEV Community

Abdulbasid Guled
Abdulbasid Guled

Posted on

Preparing for Hacktoberfest: Lab #2

So, hacktoberfest is here. That means finding a repository to contribute to and make meaningful change to projects that need them. Before that however, we had 1 lab to cover.

Our second lab required us to make PRs to other student's release 0.1 repos and add in an extra optional requirement while also reviewing PRs others make to our own repository. I added the parallelization functionality to two repos this week. Chris Pinkney (https://github.com/chrispinkney/He-s-Dead-Jim/pull/17) and TJ LeBlanc (https://github.com/IcemanEtika/deadlinkz/pull/3) both had their code updated by me as well as adding that info into their readme's as well. With TJ's repo, I actually had a merge conflict because he made some recent changes that I did not pull over so I had to figure out how to setup the upstream so that I could pull those changes before committing the changes that I made. It was a huge learning experience that I can appreciate even more when I have to deal with them again in the future.

Mo ended up being the lone student to contribute to my repo once again. He ended up making a PR also addressing the parallelization opportunity that my project had and can take advantage of (https://github.com/HyperTHD/URLAutomationMachine/pull/3). Feels sad that he's the only one doing any real change for me but I'm sure that will hopefully change in the future.

This lab taught me how to effectively deal with make changes and pull requests to projects, which is something I'll need to learn fast with hacktoberfest in full swing. Now to find a good first issue to resolve and leave my mark in this big, wide, world!

Until next time, stay tuned

Top comments (0)