DEV Community

Abdulbasid Guled
Abdulbasid Guled

Posted on

Release 0.2 Part 4: A disappointing end to an otherwise interesting month

Note to self: Don't work on issues pertaining to technologies that you have no experience with. Too much time was lost in this.

Last time, I wrote a name validation script to validate inputted names for a console application to simulate registration.

This time, we talk about my last PR. Not what I was hoping for, but honestly, it's for the best. So I was originally working on an issue regarding Jest, and Enzyme. The project was setup for testing and a test was needed. The problem, however, was that the webpack.config.js settings there were not configured for enzyme. This was important because I couldn't make any tests for the React component that I was supposed to work on for the issue. I decided to find another project to work on. I found this one:

https://github.com/ayaqdop/frontend/issues/10

It's react front-end project, but this time, the issue I worked on for this issue was different in nature. The issue was to make a contributors and code of conduct markdown files for the project. These 2 files are very critical files since they dictate how developers contribute to the project and exactly what is expected of them. The issue had a nice template to follow, however, I used multiple templates in order to write down the two files I made. I wrote the files down, made the commit, then made the PR.

https://github.com/ayaqdop/frontend/pull/18

What a month. I'm thankful for my prof, David, giving me the opportunity to work on real open-source projects. This release has open my eyes to open-source work, but it's also opened me up to the rigorous work that's required to work on projects. It's stuff that I can bring to life in my capstone project's implementation course (BTS630 next semester). I feel bad that most of my work may not be up to the caliber of other students in this course and I still have lots to learn about this type of work. Next month, we're going to be working on our 3rd release, which is to rewrite the front-end of the RSS feed website that last year's students wrote, Telescope. You can view that finished work here:

https://telescope.cdot.systems/

Living up to last year's students work will almost be a challenge that may be impossible for us to do. They wrote the entire website after all. We're going to move it from Gatsby.JS to Next.JS, which recently had a conference talking about Next v10. It's mostly written with React which is something that I'm familiar with. I'll certainly make mistakes along the way, but I believe that in life, you have to make mistakes in order to improve, and although my work this month may not match other student's PRs, I'm proud of what I've done. Marks will come and go, but the work will always stay with you.

Next time, Telescope. The nerves are still getting to me. I hope I can make you proud, David.

Small note: David actually quoted a piece of my blog on his Twitter account. I actually found out from another student. It was crazy. Next time, you got my permission to quote my name if you intend to use my words again, professor!

Top comments (0)