DEV Community

Tim Smith
Tim Smith

Posted on

Learning From Small Projects

I was recently working on a project for a client where I was using Gatsby.js with a WordPress back-end. I'm using Netlify to host the Gatsby site which works well, but it needs to rebuild the site every time content is updated in WordPress.

My solution was to create a custom WordPress plugin which would make it easy to interact with Netlify and use a webhook to rebuild the site whenever a user updated content. In addition, I created a widget on the dashboard to see the current status of the Netlify site.

Building this plugin taught me more about building plugins for WordPress and has given me a tool to use in future projects where I need to use WordPress with Netlify (which I expect will become more often).

What little projects have you built to help learn a new technology or solve a small problem and help you move forward as a developer?

WP Trigger Netlify Build
p.s. If you're interested in looking at or using the plugin, it can be found here.

Top comments (0)