DEV Community

Cover image for Looking forward to adding Algolia's DOCSEARCH to Mantine DataTable
Ionut-Cristian Florescu
Ionut-Cristian Florescu

Posted on

Looking forward to adding Algolia's DOCSEARCH to Mantine DataTable

It's been almost 10 months since my first commit to the Mantine DataTable project. Back then, I had no idea it was to become one of the most used data table components in the Mantine UI community.

I discovered Mantine after a few years of working with various React UI libraries such as MUI, Blueprint.js and Ant Design, and I immediately fell in love with it. But I was missing the rich data-table functionality, so instead of re-creating it in each project, I thought I should publish it as an open-source package so other people in the community would benefit from it.

The documentation website is probably one of the things that led to its adoption by the community. Since the React component is exclusively built with Mantine primitives and doesn't rely on heavy external dependencies such as React Table, I thought I should design and build its website to look and function similarly with Mantine's docs, so users would feel right at home when browsing it and learning how to use the component by studying the interactive examples.

I am now faced with a challenge, though. I initially envisioned the docs as an example-led journey that will explain and showcase the features, so I ended up having quite a lot of content - around 30 pages.

While this is still extraordinary and mush appreciated by both newcomers and veteran users alike, we're kind of missing a smart search piece of functionality.

That's why I recently applied for Algolia's DOCSEARCH - they are kind enough to offer their powerful solution for free to open-source projects.

The application process is rumored to take around 2 weeks, but hopefully everything will be fine and my project will be approved soon.

Thank you all for using Mantine DataTable and starring the GitHub repo!

Top comments (0)