DEV Community

Cover image for Venturing into front-end land
icncsx
icncsx

Posted on • Updated on

Venturing into front-end land

I've been a professional software developer for almost three years now, and I'm still super insecure about my front-end skills. So insecure to the point where at work I make a conscious effort to avoid front-end related tasks by citing my specialty and affinity for the back-end which is a complete lie; I like the back-end because most of my professional training and experience has been back-end oriented.

Recently, I've summoned up the courage to get out of my comfort zone and take a few courses on JS, CSS and HTML, and they've certainly helped me feel at ease about rendering something on the browser. Strangely it took me this long to discover there was a huge merit to working in the front-end: getting to interact directly with what I'm building. In front-end land, I know what I'm building is pretty ugly (😅), but at least I'm directly responsible for the mess, whereas it can be a muddy process tracking exactly what it is that I do on the back-end.

So where am I at? Well, I think I have a loose grasp of everything in JS land. A mentor advised me to start blogging to reinforce the concepts, so here I am. Over the past three weeks, I've learned tons of new things, and I thought it would be nice to share them here. You can tell me if what I learned is BS. For reference, here are some of the topics I intend to cover herein:

  • JavaScript
  • React
  • Vue
  • D3

As for how my newfound skills will help me professionally, I'm not sure. Until I get enough practice and feel like I really know what I'm doing, nothing's going to change at work; I'll continue trodding along in Clojure land which has been my favorite land as of recent. Anyways, I hope you enjoy my writing.

Warmly,
EK

Top comments (8)

Collapse
 
iainfreestone profile image
Iain Freestone

Good luck with your adventures in Frontend land.

I can highly recommend bookmarking the MDN Docs they are a fantastic resource for HTML, CSS and JavaScript

Collapse
 
icncsx profile image
icncsx

Oh yes, they are quite awesome aren't they! I have MDN Docs and CSS-Tricks bookmarked :)

Collapse
 
webdev_chen profile image
Uchena Miller

The best Developers are those who have doubts. Being insecure isn't always a bad thing. Its challenging yes; because there is something you might think is better.

Collapse
 
icncsx profile image
icncsx

I hope I'm one of those! Thanks for the uplifting message~

Collapse
 
andreacanton profile image
Andrea Canton

Great article! I had a similar journey but in the opposite direction: I started as a front-end and now I can consider myself a full-stack developer.

I'm looking forward to reading your future articles!

Collapse
 
icncsx profile image
icncsx

Thank you, Andrea, and I hope you're liking the back-end. I don't think I would be able to keep up with everything if I was a full-stack developer. Too much to track you know? Btw, I hope you are safe in Verona!

Collapse
 
ivanpierre profile image
Ivan Pierre

When you'll go to ClojureScript some clouds will disappear... and perhaps others arrive. But there are nice libraries and tools...
Keep going on... ;)

Collapse
 
icncsx profile image
icncsx

At work, we've also been using reagent and re-frame! Yes, ClojureScript has definitely introduced some new clouds: very nice looking ones I shall say :)