DEV Community

Lukas Iepsen
Lukas Iepsen

Posted on

[Solved] R doesn't find installed packages

I started with the R language today, but I had some problems installing packages.
To illustrate my problem, I will try to install the ggplot2 package with the command

install.packages("ggplot2")
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

After executing this command, this message appears

Alt Text

That sounds good to me, but when I try to import this module

Alt Text

I think this error occurred due to the multiple locations for the library paths

Alt Text

But I tried to install in all these paths and the error continues

install.packages("ggplot2", lib=`libpath`)
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

I also tried to install on RStudio

Alt Text

Alt Text

But errors continued...

Alt Text

I've never worked with R before, so does anyone have any ideas to avoid these mistakes?

System Infos

  • OS: Linux Mint 19.3
  • Kernel: Linux 5.0.0-32-generic
  • Architecture: x86-64
  • R Version: 3.6.3
  • RStudio Version: 1.2.5033

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
daveparr profile image
Dave Parr

Glad you solved it :)

Incidentally, non-zero exit status actually tends to mean something didn't work.

In R we have a few tools available to us to manage packages in addition to the built in ones. Packrat has been a default solution for a long time, but now I think renv is going to soon replace it.

Any idea why the apt install build-essential solved it? I guess it might be as you needed to do local builds from the source code as opposed to pulling a new tarball in?

Collapse
 
iepsenn profile image
Lukas Iepsen

I'm going to guess this installs the GCC toolchain which R would need to compile those packages for my distro since CRAN does not provide binary packages for linux...

Collapse
 
iepsenn profile image
Lukas Iepsen

The command apt install build-essential solved this.