DEV Community

Cover image for My two month career goals as a software developer intern
Igah Franklin C
Igah Franklin C

Posted on • Updated on

My two month career goals as a software developer intern

Alt text of image

The most interesting things about setting up realistic goals for oneself is the direction it provides, helping you have a clearer focus on what is important and unimportant, there is also a clarity in decision making, giving you control over your future and acts as a source of hope motivation when things aren’t working as expected.

“If you don’t know where you are going, you will probably end up somewhere else.” –Lawrence J peter

Lol, I have said much already, I’m not trying to be a motivational speaker here.

This article is circled around my journey as a software developer intern at the Zuri internship programme and I’m super excited to share with you my goals, my experiences so far and what I intend to achieve at the end of the internship.
I will try as much as possible to keep this write up short and straight to point from here, so let’s go.

Camera roll, action…

So far, I have taken some mandatory beginner tutorial courses on HTML, figma, GIT and GIThub, and python.

My Goals

Time management/Discipline

Alt text of image

Time management as they say is the ability to effectively manage time so that the right time is allocated to the right activity.

The truth is that time is the greatest equalizer in life and no matter who you are, your age income, gender, race or religion…we all have same 24 hours each day to use as we want.

Either to sleep, have fun, eat, work, learn, or challenge ourselves to do more within the time frame (24 hours).
Well, So many times we assume we are very productive while in the real sense we are not as much as we should.

I guess working as an intern at Zuri will help me manage my time and of course be disciplined to achieve more within a short time.

Lol! My fingers would probably not be dancing on my keyboard right now if not for a task I will be submitting……The task is what you are reading now and probably my first post on DevTo.

Manage pressure and deadlines
Alt text of image

As stated above, If I were working at my own pace, I would probably be having my first blog post here next year… working with deadlines could be both interesting and challenging yet fun.
I hope to improve on my pressure management and of course beat deadlines on any job after my first 8 weeks here at Zuri.

Get familiar with more front end and UI/UX design tools like Figma
Alt text of image

So far I have taken a crash course on figma by Gary Simon and I think it’s a really cool especially for beginners. Check it out hereif you’re interested in learning more on the subject.

As the saying goes “know something small about something big and something big about something small” it’s ok to add a few of this skills to your repository no matter your stack.
I hope to be super good using this tool at the end of 56 days…its super possible.

Connect with at least 5 hardworking and smart interns
Alt text of image

Working as a team could spur you to do more and of course help and learn from others.

Of course, There are always more than one great opinion and
“No man succeeds alone, we all need each other, no matter how talented you are.”

I think I just got myself a quote up there.

You will agree with me that it is super difficult if not impossible to work with other developers in different locations without having a way to connect and share your tasks.

Github solves this problems for us and more.
You can find the link to a crash course on GIT and GIThub I took here by Brad Traversy.

Build and launch 2 web apps with python
Alt text of image

Well, I have been working with python for quiet sometime but this time around, I hope to achieve more with it by building at least two web applications with frameworks like FastApi and Django within this period.

You can check out this python course I took here by Asabeneh Yeatayeh.

Aim

The internship at Zuri is meant to last for 3 months and at the end of this period I hope to have accelerated my career beyond its current state and of course build a few useful web applications which I may not want to mention here.

Most importantly, be the best amongst the best and not the best amongst the rest.

Conclusion

When all is said and done the most important thing is setting achievable goals and in my case, I guess this is it.

Watch this space as I share more on my journey and web development in its entirety.

If you are still newbie in web dev and on the sidelines struggling to find where to start from, kindly check out this tutorial by W3schools here I believe it’s going to be helpful.

Thanks for reading this far…

be my friend on instagram

< Buena surte >

Top comments (0)