DEV Community

Ikenna
Ikenna

Posted on

...its like a search engine, but for food

As a beginner into the front-end field, if there is one thing I have learned from being in a community like CodePen is that you have to, as much as possible, showcase whatever you've been able to learn so far by creating something creative, something that mirrors something useful from the real world. So I've got this: Essentially a program made with #javascript that uses the fetch API to retrieve official meal API data and then renders it.

link to the Official theMealDB API: https://www.themealdb.com/api.php

link to my pen:
https://codepen.io/ikenna_ez/pen/ExKdJeO?editors=0010

My problem, however, is that search results are often duplicated when you type into the search bar too fast, as a result. One way to fix this is to make the input listen to 'submit' events instead of 'input' or 'keyup', but I wanted the search bar to be as interactive as possible, therefore I am still working to resolve this but if any of y'all know how to fix it feel free to fork it and send me the finished on Github or send the link to my feed.

Top comments (0)