DEV Community

Ilkka
Ilkka

Posted on

Yet again, a free, open source alternative to FingerprintJS: ThumbMarkJS

Maybe this time is different.

There simply isn't a well-maintained open source alternative to FingerprintJS. I believe the problem is not in the libraries themselves, but rather:

  1. How easy it is to measure how well they behave in the open, performance at scale
  2. How easy it is to debug an issue
  3. How easy it is to contribute to the project

I need a fingerprinting library for my work, but not that badly, that I'd want to pay a pretty high premium for the market leader. My need is more of the kind of "anything is better than nothing". But I tend to get pulled into understanding how things work and eventually trying to perfect them.

Anyway, enough prologue. If you're interested in a JavaScript browser fingerprinting library written in Typescript, have a look at ThumbMarkJS. Give it a go. And let me know where it falls short.

I already know that mobile phones are the more trickier bit, and unfortunately I don't have a handful of them at my disposal.

There is a Demo page, too, and it logs your fingerprint. Simply go there if you want to contribute to the logs. The logging happens automatically.

I've enabled Discussions on my GitHub, please use it.

Top comments (0)