DEV Community

Sk Imtiaz Ahmed
Sk Imtiaz Ahmed

Posted on

What is The Neighbourhood

I've been interested in building a community for my fellow computer science people for as long as I remember. I guess it all started when I was nominated to be president of the computer club in high school. I really like being part of a community. Something of our own.

Later I tried many times to build this community in university and even after dropping out of university. But nothing seems to work. Finally I opened up a chat group with my friends in Facebook messenger and started sharing thoughts there.

It doesn't have to be great

I had grand plans. Doing open source projects together. Making the community viral. Even setting up mentoring schemes. But none of that worked out because I really didn't have the time to do these things. But it ended up being this amazing place where I have people I know, sort of like neighbours, where I can talk when I get frustrated or when I am excited or when I need advice. And now I realise I like this just the way it is.

And that is a short introduction to The Neighbourhood.

Top comments (0)