DEV Community

Cover image for BOOTCAMP CHALLENGES AND HOW I HAVE ADAPTED IN THE LAST FEW WEEKS
Lydia Ingabire
Lydia Ingabire

Posted on

BOOTCAMP CHALLENGES AND HOW I HAVE ADAPTED IN THE LAST FEW WEEKS

Bootcamp has been a good experience so far and time goes by so quickly I can't believe we only have 2 days remaining to finish the Bootcamp. But even if we had good experience, challenges were there as well let me share some of the challenges I faced during the Bootcamp and how I have adapted.

In this Bootcamp they introduced a new program called STACK UP it was a bit challenging because when we came to the Bootcamp we were expecting that after passing the Bootcamp we shall join Andela after 1 month maybe but for the STACK UP we will have to wait for 3month before joining, it was not a good news for some of us who had their plans before this was one of the challenges we faced.

I like to say that when you want to move forward in life you have to find the best in every situation, for the STACK UP even if it might sound bad before but it's a good program as well because after explaining for us what is all about I figured out that after finishing those 3months of the STACK UP you will be proud to say that you a software engineer because during this program you will be able to level up:

-Technical skills: We will be able to meet brilliants minds I mean software engineers who will help us to increase our skills in programming

-Team skills: I know that in Andela you have to work in a team so with STACK UP we shall get an opportunity to increase these skills so that it can't be a problem in the future

-English speaking: We need to speak English professionally so with STACK UP we will be able to level up our English and also our public speaking
I know STACK UP will be an amazing experience so to speak

The second challenge I faced is because I did not have a background in software development I had to use all my strength to be able to work on the Bootcamp project. imagine coming from Hospitality and start to code this might sound impossible before but with passion and determination everything is possible.

I have adapted by being focused and always thinking why I started, I was very passionate about technology so when Andela came it was an opportunity for me to realize my dreams so when am feeling like quitting this gives me strength to move forward, this requires a lot of research, sleepless nights and to be open to the feedback.
When they tell me where to improve I take it positively and as an opportunity to grow. and of course, being in a group of different people who has their background, their way of thinking it is challenging but it is even colorful to get to meet new people and learn from them.

I am looking forward to seeing what the future holds in this career I can't wait to see myself growing in this field and inspire new generation as a Girl who came from zero coding skills to a senior Developer.

Top comments (0)