DEV Community

Cover image for HOW I DEMONSTRATED A GROWTH MINDSET RECENTLY
Lydia Ingabire
Lydia Ingabire

Posted on

HOW I DEMONSTRATED A GROWTH MINDSET RECENTLY

A Mindset is a belief that orients the way we handle situations — the way we sort out what is going on and what we should do. Your mindset has a profound effect on achievement, skills acquisition, and other areas of life. A person with a growth mindset believes their abilities can be gotten through hard work and dedication.

I used to love programming but i didn't know what is all about until I started to learn it, learning programming been a way for me to demonstrate a growth mindset but you can ask yourself how?
but before telling you about how I demonstrated it let me talk about how you can develop it:
-Acknowledge your weakness: Hiding from your weaknesses means you’ll never overcome them.

-View challenges as opportunities: Having a growth mindset means relishing opportunities for self-improvement.

-Try different learning tactics: There’s no one-size-fits-all model for learning. What works for one person may not work for you.

-Replace the word “failing” with the word “learning.”: When you make a mistake or fall short of a goal, you haven’t failed; you’ve learned.

Recently I demonstrated a growth mindset by attending women workshop to level up my technical skills, I call this a growth mindset because I was invited to attend the workshop right after failing to make it in the Bootcamp when you fail for the first time you might think that its normal that you can try again, but for the second time your point of view might start to change thinking that maybe this is not the things that you can try something else.

So I had to change my mindset by thinking that "challenges are what makes people grow" so when I failed I took it as an experience and when I was invited I didn't hesitate to accept. It was not easy because I had to start learning from scratch even what I thought I know already I had to repeat it what is interesting is that I learned many things like every end of the day I was pretty sure that I am not wasting my time.

And I can't forget to talk about challenges of working with different people who have different personalities, backgrounds, points of views, this is sometimes another challenge I faced during the workshop and it requires a growth mindset to move on with different types of people who can sometimes challenge you and feel like giving up.

In a conclusion, let me say that you can't achieve your goals if you give up easily, and if you are not ready to overcome all the challenges which will come in your way, so keep growing your mindset don't limit yourself.

Top comments (0)