DEV Community

Cover image for MY EXPERIENCE IN BOOTCAMP SO FAR
Lydia Ingabire
Lydia Ingabire

Posted on

MY EXPERIENCE IN BOOTCAMP SO FAR

Have you ever traveled to another country where you get to discover their culture, meeting new people, visiting good places and getting new experiences? I compare this with my experience in Bootcamp so far.

Before I join Bootcamp I had my point of view of how things will be and how challenging it will be in fact I was thinking that it will be a place where you just go and code without doing anything else, but guess what!! so far it has been a good experience because things went differently of how I was thinking it will be.

The first day of the Bootcamp we started the day by doing a warm-up which included playing some funny games it is really a good motivation for the people who had a point of view like mine it is like giving you another picture of the Bootcamp and also after warm-ups they introduced to us the learning facilitators who will be assisting us the whole week and this is really terrifying at first because you might think that they will be there just to show your mistakes but so far how I was expecting things to be is very different with the truth they are there to help you and assist you not to criticize you.

In this Bootcamp we really liked our learning facilitator his name is Eric Shema he is a cool guy we liked how he was always available to assist and answer when we asked something also I liked how he helped me to improve in the way I write my code and he was always appreciating what you did which is very motivating it is like someone is telling you that you did not west your time. And also in the Bootcamp, we learned that you don't have just to finish your work instead you have to know why you are doing things this way.

In the Bootcamp you get to meet new people, you make new friends from different background who has their way of thinking different to yours it is a bit challenging at first but that is one of the things which makes the Bootcamp very colorful, you learn how to increase your communication skills because you have to be in touch with the learning facilitator telling your progress. Bootcamp taught us how to work in the team which is the skills you will need even after joining Andela.

Bootcamp experience thus far has been amazing. I have learned and experienced so many new things in such a short period, and time has gone by so quickly. I am still discovering all the opportunities that Andela has to offer me. Andela is a great and very welcoming place.

Top comments (0)