DEV Community

Cover image for Women In Tech Workshop challenges and how I have adapted in the last few weeks
Lydia Ingabire
Lydia Ingabire

Posted on

Women In Tech Workshop challenges and how I have adapted in the last few weeks

When I was invited to the women Tech workshop I started to think about how the journey will be, if we will be able to understand what we are learning alone but let me share how we have adapted in these last few weeks.

here are some few challenges I faced:

-The first challenge, in general, is always thinking that we have limitations that there are things that are supposed to be performed by Men

-some of us it was the first time to learn Javascript so we have to do our own research so to understand what we are doing

-understanding git workflow was one of the biggest challenges we face during the Women Tech Workshop
but even if the workshop was challenging but it was a good experience we had though, there are some quotes which help me out when i feel challenged:

"We don't grow when things are easy, we grow when we face challenges".

"Difficult roads often lead to beautiful destinations".

When I was in this workshop there are things which helped me to adapt :

-First of all, I had to be positive every day and try to find the best in every situation I faced

-Every end of the day when I see that I learned something new even if its small it's a motivation for me it showed that I am not wasting my time

-What I liked the most in the workshop is posting every day a stand up this helped me to keep my head up to work hard.

-I can't take for granted that I met new friends who have brilliants minds, they were always a motivation to wake up every morning and come to the workshop.

We learned to be problem solvers, to do our research when we don't understand what we are doing, to work as a team, and to pay attention to details.

It was a good experience we had.

Top comments (0)