DEV Community

Matt Eland
Matt Eland

Posted on

Publication, MVP, and Speaking - My 2020 Goals

I'm not one to aim low. I never have been.

Computers are all about using technology to do big things - or do many little things efficiently and intelligently.

I've had a fantastic 2019 - particularly the second half. I've given many internal talks, written over 80 technical articles, spoken at a .NET user group, applied to conferences, gotten accepted to my first conference (and a big one at that), launched Kill All Defects, and generally grown in confidence and capabilities.

I personally blame dev.to for a lot of this for encouraging the crap out of me in 2019.


In 2020, I want to take more steps on the public stage.

I'll start the year off by talking at CodeMash 2020, but I also hope to:

  • Speak in at least one additional conference in the Ohio area
  • Speak in at least one user group in the Columbus area
  • Get nominated as a Microsoft MVP in Developer Technologies
  • Possibly win said MVP Award

I'd also like to do one of the following:

  • Publish a course on Pluralsight, LinkedIn learning, Udemy, or other digital learning platform
  • Publish a book on software quality
  • Launch a software product related to software quality

Huge goals, but I like to dream big and I'm not afraid of failure, because it takes me interesting places and makes for a fun story.

Top comments (10)

Collapse
 
a1300 profile image
a1300

All the best for 2020. I enjoyed your articles in 2019!

Please let me know how we can support your goals. Especially the MVP. Can we vote for you? Can we suggest you?

Collapse
 
integerman profile image
Matt Eland

Thanks! I'll ask some MVPs I know how the process works!

Collapse
 
baskarmib profile image
Baskarrao Dandlamudi

As per the new process existing MVPs or Microsoft FTE will be able to nominate. There is no self nomination currently.
mvp.microsoft.com/en-us/overview

Thread Thread
 
integerman profile image
Matt Eland

And that's the way it should be. It should be something special and earned.

Thread Thread
 
baskarmib profile image
Baskarrao Dandlamudi

Yep. It follows the same GDE model now.

Collapse
 
baskarmib profile image
Baskarrao Dandlamudi

Continue your momentum Matt. You will definitely unlock your goals.

Collapse
 
cristinaruth profile image
Cristina Ruth

Nice! Personally, I like to use OKRs for my personal goals. Recommend you look into them if you're not familiar with them. 🙂

Collapse
 
integerman profile image
Matt Eland

I use them for work goals and just measurably nailed them this year, but never tried that on personal goals

Collapse
 
a1300 profile image
a1300 • Edited

Matt, do you have experience with Formal checking ala TLA+? This is something there are not many articles written on.

Collapse
 
integerman profile image
Matt Eland

I do not. I'll have to look into it. Sounds up my alley.