DEV Community

integervis
integervis

Posted on

Welcome to my dev journal

You know if your code works or if it doesn't. And this is powerful.

I moved in London three years ago, 2018, but it was only during the lockdown that I really started to question myself about what I really want to do in my life. I guess it was a great time of reflection for everyone. Basically I was not happy with my choices and the lockdown pushed everything to the limit.

This general feeling of unease lead to a very interesting conversation with my dear friend F. to whom I mentioned my life-long passion for coding that, for some unknown reasons, I never really followed.

In middle school, the girl I had a massive crush on asked me to burn her a cd with some songs. Instead of just writing a cd containing the mp3s I created a menu with the 'autorun.inf' automatically showing a window with a soundtrack and button to play the songs.(She wasnt impressed though....)

Later on I explored Turbo Pascal, Visual Basic, Fortran 77 and bits of web development (HTML, CSS, JS) on my own and thanks to my high school / uni.

I never asked myself the big question: why not trying to properly learn coding? (I was studyin Civil Engineering and Architecture).

It was F. who, after that chat, realised how much I would enjoy it and kept pushing me everyday for a couple of months until I paid the subscription to LeWagon for the part time bootcamp.

Now, at only one month left to the bootcamp and after five quite intense months I realised that coding makes me happy. It delivers so much: abstract problem solving is extremely rewarding because of the validation coming mainly from yourself.

After finishing the lectures we started coding our first airbnb clone. Every single day of those two weeks was so exciting. I would start coding after dinner and suddenly it was 2am and I wasn't even tired.

This must mean something, right?

Top comments (0)