DEV Community

Cover image for Which language & framework are you using for a backend?
InvalidLenni
InvalidLenni

Posted on

Which language & framework are you using for a backend?

Hello there!

Which language and framework are you using for the backend on your website? Example: js, expressjs. (X, Z. X = Programming language, Z = framework)

I use javascript, expressjs currently for my APIs / backends, but I want to switch to python, flask.

Top comments (42)

Collapse
 
jwhenry3 profile image
Justin Henry

Language: JS/TS
Framework: Depending on backend purpose, either NestJS or NextJS

NextJS: coupled with react frontend to serve minor apis
NestJS: more robust and complex applications (and microservice infrastructure)

Collapse
 
cubikca profile image
Brian Richardson

A mix of C# and PHP. Communication between applications is via Web APIs, or RPC over a message queue. Moving toward a completely async C# implementation that doesn't use RPC at all. SignalR is part of that puzzle, allowing back-end processing to communicate back to the front-end.

Collapse
 
valeriavg profile image
Valeria

Used to do a lot of Nodejs with custom frameworks, switched to Go and Encore backend engine.
It all depends on the requirements, to be honest, I need tools to prototype REST APIs fast and be able to release to production without too many changes. What are you aiming to build?

Collapse
 
invalidlenni profile image
InvalidLenni

a small API for a discord bot that detects and deletes phishing links.

Collapse
 
valeriavg profile image
Valeria

Yeah, anything would do here, to be honest.
I'm not familiar with Flask, but in Node or Go you'd not need a framework for it, since there'd be just a few static routes.

Collapse
 
einlinuus profile image
EinLinuus

Language: JS / TS
Framework: SvelteKit

I really love Svelte and how simple you can build awesome apps, and SvelteKit is perfect with server-side rendering and routing.

Personally, I love it to build the whole application in one language, before I discovered SvelteKit I used plain HTML / CSS / JS with PHP.

Collapse
 
ilyakozlovdev profile image
Ilya Kozlov

Elixir language with Phoenix Framework

Collapse
 
madalinignisca profile image
Madalin Ignisca

php, javascript, python. I prefer microservices, small functions, all glued with docker for development, and kubernetes for production. observability with sentry, which can couple the frontend as well and give me exact trace from the client to the backend service issues, perfoamance also.

Collapse
 
njoroge profile image
Dennis Kamau

Node but I think Java is better

Collapse
 
elohe_charisma profile image
Charisma Elohe

You’d prefer flask to Django?
I’d root for Django, it’s the whole tool box!

Collapse
 
invalidlenni profile image
InvalidLenni • Edited

In fact, I haven't really watched Django yet.

Collapse
 
elohe_charisma profile image
Charisma Elohe

Be sure to check it out.
I love Django since it is much scalable, better security like csrf enablement.

(I would be publishing an article on this very soon.Be sure to check it out)

Collapse
 
mirkoperillo profile image
mirko

It depends on the customer which I work for.

For my projects:

  • Golang with Fiber

For work:

  • Java with Spring boot
  • Golang
Collapse
 
longtrinh1749 profile image
longtrinh1749

Is your project for freelance job?

Collapse
 
mirkoperillo profile image
mirko

At the moment my projects are only for personal/learning needs

Collapse
 
nihad profile image
Nihad

On my last project I utilized ASP.NET with SignalR framework to communicate with my WinForms applications.

Collapse
 
elohe_charisma profile image
Charisma Elohe

Django.

Collapse
 
scotticles profile image
Scotticles

jquery, adminlte, mojolicious, postgres, minion, Perl

Collapse
 
chaqui profile image
Josue Fuentes

Lenguage:php,java

Framework:laravel y spring

Collapse
 
elyasi2142977 profile image
H.elyasi

Js...express

Collapse
 
luscas profile image
Lucas

Backend: NestJS, Laravel
Frontend: NextJS, Remix, Vue