DEV Community

Isabella Liu
Isabella Liu

Posted on

Release 0.2.1, First PR for Hacktoberfest

This post is for the first PR I sent for the Hacktoberfest, and also for the Release 0.2.1. I found a perfect one on Monday which was a Golang project and I checked the issue, I felt it should be okay for me to solve it. But I was wrong, I tried several hours and I cannot get it through. With the deadline coming in a few hours, I had to change to a much easier one to get started.

I found a project asking help for updating their README to show correct directions for Mac, and how to set up the virtual environment, click https://github.com/codethesaurus/codethesaur.us/issues/60 to check the details of the issue. And this one seems like a real project which does need some help, instead of just being created to help people finish Hacktoberfest tasks. I did some research and tried on my MacBook Air and helped with the update, and sent the PR, https://github.com/codethesaurus/codethesaur.us/pull/63/commits/f9651d37c2186a4055873aa2ccd373c5df7add61 to the owner. The owner was very kind and responded. It has not been checked and merged yet. If there is any update or more response, I will modifications based on their request.

Sometimes I can be really picky, which would delay my progress in some way. David has empathized several times that the most important step is to get things started and done, instead of putting a lot of effort into trying to find a perfect issue. I should try to overcome this drawback and get my hands wet as soon as possible every time and every step.

Top comments (0)