DEV Community

Cover image for I am a software developer starting a blog
Joey The Dev
Joey The Dev

Posted on

I am a software developer starting a blog

And you should start one too

Have you ever thought of starting your own blog? I have many times, but I just never got around to it. I blame myself though. It is a classic case of procrastination and being stuck in endless researching on the internet and using it as an excuse not to actually get started.

But today is the day! This will be my first official post! There are a few reasons that have compelled me to finally get started. I would like to highlight these reasons in this, my first post.

Exposure

Blogging allows you to showcase your skills and projects to the world. Of course, it will take a lot to draw readers to your post, but in my opinion, it’s better to get one person to see your stuff than have no one at all. As a software developer, I have tried my hand at multiple side projects and in the end, I am the only one who knows about it (I am not ashamed of this because I know many other devs have faced this, but that’s for another post). Putting what you have worked on out there into the world through a blog post could help with some exposure. Additionally, persons get to see what you are made of, and that opens the door for opportunities.

Community Contribution

I am also here so I can give my two cents of the career and the industry as a whole. I would like to give tips and tutorials to beginners. I was once a beginner and I am still learning. I depended a lot on blog posts like these to develop into the professional I am today. There is just always something so real and genuine about someone giving their thoughts and perspective to certain topics. It really helps!

Online Journal

I would also like to use this online space to document my growth as a developer. I have come a far, far way. I have learned much and I am still learning. I think it would be fun to have a sort of documentation for myself; like I am a project. I have been incremented with many version numbers and build codes, and I just keep getting better! This space will be my Github...or Gitlab!

Conclusion

It’s important to note as well, money can be made from blogging, however, that should not be the primary motivator, at least when beginning. I, and you should not be sidetracked by this. I plan to thrive in this area. I am definitely not the best writer. I dont even think of myself as an average one, which is one of the reasons why I have been scared to get started. But I know, just like my dev career, practice makes perfect.

Will you join me?

Top comments (0)