DEV Community

Deku
Deku

Posted on

quick question about Terminals

hey, I have some questions about terminal portfolio/apps I have been seeing on the internet. if you're professional in this subject, please help me.:

(i only ask this here because I couldn't find any answer on the web.)

first- what is this called?:
some terminal shit
and this:

some terminal shit

here are my questions:

-what is this? i know its ASCII, i measn the terminal

-how do I make one?

-what are the uses?

-how do I learn to make portfolio websites or apps like this? (on video or text. doesn't matter)

-what language or OS should I use to make this? I mean like Linux, windows?

if you can tell me more descriptions or things that I DIDNT ask or you think I could've asked, please go and comment :)

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
nhatbui profile image
Nhat Bui

They're simply softwares that run in terminal. Just like other softwares, they have their own use cases, and their uses don't necessarily need an UI.

If you want to make a portfolio website that looks alike, HTML & CSS is the way to go.

We usually make terminal apps on (but not limited to) Linux. There are apps that run nicely on Windows or Mac. Many apps are written in (again, not limited to) C combined with some Shell. This guy writes his ToDo in Python.

Collapse
 
itsdekusenpai profile image
Deku

Thank you so much❤️ this was good to know, and i will try to make portfolio :)