DEV Community

ivanm0
ivanm0

Posted on

Writing Robotic Arm

Physics Project

Our AP Physics teacher loves having us work on independent projects throughout the year. For one of them, my group made a robotic arm, and instead of having it pick up objects like in a lot of the videos out there, I programmed it to be able to write anything (at least, under 7 letters long) with a marker. It's made of an Arduino, a few servos, and some 3D printed parts (which I received just a few days before the deadline 😥).

Demo Link

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Wpd-TouCS1XBPbLzx_5I9V8gfi3Biccl/view?usp=sharing

Link to Code

How I built it (what's the stack? did I run into issues or discover something new along the way?)

At first, I had the arm draw preset shapes with defined coordinates (which are then translated to polar, then into servo positions with inverse kinematics), but when I tried moving onto letters, the Arduino didn't have enough storage to remember cartesian coordinates for all 26 letters. So, I came up with a 3x3 grid system, with each node being labeled 1-9, then defined each letter using an array of nodes to form a path. These paths can then easily be translated into coordinates on the paper, depending on the position of the letter.

Additional Thoughts / Feelings / Stories

I plan to add more customization to the writing, maybe create a variable font size. I already did this manually in testing but didn't get around to making it full-fledged function, since it was already midnight before presentation day 😛

Top comments (0)