DEV Community

Cover image for My 2024 Hacktoberfest Maintainer Experience: ๐Ÿ’” Building and Growing ImagePro ๐Ÿš€
Jackson Kasi
Jackson Kasi

Posted on

My 2024 Hacktoberfest Maintainer Experience: ๐Ÿ’” Building and Growing ImagePro ๐Ÿš€

My 2024 Hacktoberfest Maintainer Experience: Building and Growing ImagePro

This is a submission for the 2024 Hacktoberfest Writing Challenge: Maintainer Experience

Hey there, Iโ€™m Jackson Kasi ๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ‘‹, and Iโ€™m excited to share my journey as a maintainer during this yearโ€™s Hacktoberfest. My project, ImagePro, a Figma plugin, started as a fun experiment but grew into something much bigger, with a dedicated team and meaningful contributions from the open-source community ๐Ÿš€.

๐Ÿ’ช My Team:


The Birth of ImagePro

Initially, ImagePro was a small project aimed at helping developers and designers export their assets from Figma in various formats like PNG, JPG, WEBP, SVG, and PDF. I noticed that many plugins out there were either too expensive or lacked features like password protection for PDFs, color mode conversion, or merging multiple PDFs. So, I thought, why not build something free and open-source? ๐ŸŽฏ

As a developer with limited design experience, my main focus was on the technical sideโ€”ensuring that the plugin was feature-rich, efficient, and easy to use. But soon enough, I realized that the user interface needed serious improvement to make it truly user-friendly ๐Ÿคฏ.


From Solo to a Team Effort ๐Ÿ’ช

At first, I was the sole maintainer, juggling development, testing, and (attempting) UI/UX improvements. Realizing I needed help, I reached out to my coworker colleague Aswin to assist with the design side. He agreed, and while balancing his full-time job, he contributed his free time to making the plugin more user-friendly ๐ŸŽจ.

Despite our efforts, we still needed more design expertise.

Image description

So, I turned to the online community, asking in Discord, Slack channels, forums, and LinkedIn for UI/UX contributions. For a long time, I received no responses.

But I didnโ€™t lose hope. Persistence paid off when I discovered Open Source Design, a community dedicated to connecting open-source projects with designers ๐Ÿง‘โ€๐ŸŽจ.

I received many responses from Open Source Design; most contributors eventually left the project.๐Ÿ’”

Image description

I finally found Sharvari Suresh, who stayed on and has been instrumental in improving the user experience of ImagePro ๐ŸŒŸ.
With Aswin, Sharvari, and myself, weโ€™ve built a small, but passionate, team that continues to work on the plugin in our free time.


The Pinata Cloud Integration ๐ŸŽ‰

As part of the Pinata Challenge, we integrated Pinata Cloud into ImagePro, making file uploads easier and more secure ๐Ÿ”. Now users can export their assets and upload them directly to Pinata Cloud, where they can manage, search, and download their files without hassle ๐Ÿ› ๏ธ.

This integration added a new layer of functionality to the plugin, helping it stand out in the Figma ecosystem ๐ŸŒ. It was a great learning experience for me as a maintainer, as I balanced managing contributions and keeping the core functionality aligned with the community's needs.


The Highs and Lows of Maintaining ๐ŸŽข

Being a maintainer during Hacktoberfest is an intense but rewarding experience. On the positive side, I saw firsthand how an open-source project can grow through community contributions โœจ. I also learned the importance of clear communicationโ€”especially when working with contributors across different time zones and skill levels ๐ŸŒ.

On the downside, it can be challenging to balance everything, especially when contributions slow down or when certain tasks (like improving the UI) feel out of my personal expertise ๐Ÿ›‘. But having a team to lean on makes a big difference. We share the workload, brainstorm solutions, and encourage each other ๐Ÿค.


Looking Ahead ๐Ÿ”ฎ

Weโ€™re far from done with ImagePro. Our next steps include adding AI-driven image features ๐Ÿค–, exploring SaaS opportunities, and continuing to refine the plugin. While maintaining a project isnโ€™t easy, Iโ€™m proud of what weโ€™ve accomplished so far and excited about where weโ€™re headed ๐Ÿš€.

Hacktoberfest was a fantastic opportunity for us to reflect on our progress and engage with the open-source community ๐Ÿ’ก. As a maintainer, itโ€™s taught me the importance of collaboration, perseverance, and adaptability.

Hereโ€™s to many more contributions, challenges, and growth in the future. And for anyone considering open-source workโ€”just go for it! You never know where itโ€™ll take you! ๐ŸŒŸ


Image description

Thanks to my amazing team, Aswin & Sharvari Suresh, for sticking with me on this journey and helping make ImagePro a success! ๐Ÿ™Œ

You can try ImagePro on Figma here: ๐Ÿ‘‰ ImagePro on Figma

Top comments (0)