DEV Community

Robert Enojado
Robert Enojado

Posted on

My Journey to a career in technology

I'm currently enrolled in the AWS Re/start program with NCI, which started on December 9, 2020. It's a 12 week course that prepares the students for the AWS Cloud Practitioner Certification, as well as touching on the following core concepts in:

  • Linux
  • Networking
  • Security
  • Databases
  • Programming
  • Python

We finish up learning about AWS services. The date of the exam has been set, which takes place the 4th of March.

It's been quite a grind. Class starts from 9am to 5pm Monday through Friday. I also work at least 30 hours a week at a UFF Amazon fulfillment center. I take as much time as I can when I'm not in class or working to study.

We are pretty fortunate to have a great professor, Mr. Dunieski Otano. He likes to inspire his students, ignite the spark, and encourages us to keep the fire burning when it comes to following our passion. There has been a lot of hands on training. As students we have learned to create infrastructure using the AWS console, CLI, Cloudfront, and even Terraform.

Ever since I started the course I have been looking forward to class each day. I find cloud technology to be really interesting and exciting. There's so much more to learn and I'm pretty happy to have started down this path.

I'll create some more posts about the details of what I have learned and how I can apply it to some projects. I believe that it's important to apply fresh knowledge to exercises to solidify it into memory.

It feels pretty good to finally create my first post. I look forward to being a part of this community and sharing my knowledge and experience.

Top comments (0)