DEV Community

Janine
Janine

Posted on

First Week At My Boot Camp

Stepping into the world of coding, I thought would be opening a different world of possibilities. It did. But in my head I felt like I was thrown into the ocean not knowing how to swim. A bit dramatic, aren’t I? For reference my background was health care. I was not technically a first responder, but had a very important role anyhow. Prior to starting the boot camp that I am currently enrolled in, we were instructed to finish a pre-work course which consisted of about 40-60 hours of lecture and lab, and I finished it a week or so before the first day of class.

I thought that had prepared me from the ocean that I was about to embark on. I was excited, nervous, giddy that I would be learning more information. I had my laptop ready, cup of tea next to me, and an emergency coffee on standby just in case, eager to face the day. I guess I did forget how a first day in school feels. It has been 10 years plus since I have been in school. Gosh, do I feel old writing that. I felt happy, eager, lost, confused, and anxious all at the same time.

It has been exactly 5 days since I started my boot camp school. I still feel all the emotions everyday. Up and down, right and left, making circles, what a rollercoaster the first week feels. What got me through the lows, was making myself a cheat sheet. I would like to share some parts of the cheat sheet that I made as I went through the course and labs in this first week. Comment if you need any clarifications or anything to improve my cheat sheet!

I think I've learnt a huge amount in a very short amount of time, hopefully this blog helps somebody going through the same situation, you're not alone, you've got this!

JavaScript Basics:

Variables
- they store values, ex: const variableName = “This is a string.”

Variable Re-assignable? Scope: Use it?
let yes block-scoped yes
const no block-scoped yes
var yes Global or function Avoid it!

Data types

  1. Number
  2. String
  3. Boolean
  4. Object
  5. Undefined
  6. Null
  7. BigInt
  8. Symbol

Functions

1. Function Declarations

function addition(number1, number2) {
return number1 \+ number2;
}
addition(5, 10);
Expected return: 15

2. Function Expressions

const sum \= function addition(number1, number2) {
return number1 \+ number2;
}
console.log(sum(5, 10));
Expected return: 15

3. Arrow functions

cons sum \= (number1, number2) \=\> number1 \+ number2;
sum(5, 10);
Expected return: 15

source: https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/docs/Learn/Getting_started_with_the_web/JavaScript_basics

DOM / HMTL

The DOM, Document Object Model, is a way of representing a document as a series of nodes, and defines the interface for interacting with those nodes. HTML, HyperText Markup Language, is used to create a representation of the DOM that then can be modified by javascript, using the APIs defined by the DOM.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
javaskrskr profile image
javaskrskr

Keep it up