DEV Community

Cover image for When you realize half your car is stuck in a frozen lake.
James Palermo
James Palermo

Posted on

When you realize half your car is stuck in a frozen lake.

One time I was driving on an icy road in my GTI. Then I heard a crunch and it tilted sideways.

It was actually partially the bank of a river that had such thick ice it seemed like a flat road. I immediately did everything I could to prepare for the recovery truck, but without them I was stuck.

I've wound up in this situation with my Python project. I Came up with an exciting project idea, judged it within my ability to execute, made quite good progress until... crunch. Tilt. Splash. I'm stuck.

This is something people gloss over when saying anyone can learn to code on their own. The ability to wave over a teacher or ask a student next to you if they can help can save hours of research, trial, and error. Furthermore with an instructor overlooking your attempts to get unstuck, you're less likely to come up with a fragile or unsafe solution.

All this is to say my wonderful project is stuck, and boy I wish I had a Python tow truck to help me out.

  • Jas

Top comments (0)