DEV Community

James Palermo
James Palermo

Posted on

Why isn't there Tinder for coding partners?

I'm a person who really enjoys having a partner to work on stuff with. Maybe there is some obscure syntax that needs googling -- one of you can go look it up while the other keeps working on the actual logic challenges.

Perhaps you're just struggling with motivation, or your sleep cycle, and knowing that someone is waiting on you to get up off your lazy backside and get on voice chat and get to work is important to you.

Maybe you just enjoy bouncing ideas off of another person, and hearing their ideas, then working together to make them a reality.

Not only that, but for a lot of new coders who might want to go on to make a career of this you're going to need to learn how to talk to other humans about code.

I can fire up an app on my phone and find almost anything I want. I can buy a broken refrigerator, sell a camera lens, or as the title implies find someone to go on a 'date' with.

I know there are lots of great communities (my favorite being dev.to due to the diversity of skill level, writing style, and culture) but there isn't a centralized place to say "I'd like to build my first Vue/React/Vanilla-ts/Python/whatever, anyone want to learn with me?"

I know the webdev community loves to think of itself as super inclusive and open and friendly but to be honest, it is a little cliquey. Go on any Discord server about webdev and you'll find there is a group of people who are usually highly skilled and very tight knit. Open source projects are even more intimidating.

I wish I could swipe ... right? left? I've never used Tinder but whichever way you swipe to say "We're a match!" and find people to work on projects with.

People often say learning to code on your own is an "adventure" but in all my years I've never once been on an adventure that wasn't enhanced by having someone else along for the ride.

Stay healthy,

  • Jas

Top comments (40)

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Awesome post, James!

I really think you're onto something here...

I've had a similar idea about an app for matching up folks to play music together. My idea kinda hinged on pairing up people that are in the same area geographically, which I believe must be how Tinder works granted I don't truly know (I've been with the same person for 15 years so luckily missed out on online dating, haha).

With finding a coding partner, I don't think you'd need to pair people up that are physically nearby each other, so that's kind of cool that you wouldn't have to worry about that. Still, it'd be cool to give folks the option to filter to people that are near them in case they want to meet up and work on a project in person together.

Anyway, good idea. If you decide to move forward with creating something like this, I hope you'll share it with us!

Collapse
 
james_palermo_bc208e463e4 profile image
James Palermo

I have some questions that would also apply to a music app. Can I bounce a few questions off ya? I’ve got all the messenger platforms or shoot me an email. 😎

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington • Edited

Absolutely! 🙌

Would you hit me up at michael@forem.com?

Thread Thread
 
james_palermo_bc208e463e4 profile image
James Palermo

Sent an email.

Thread Thread
 
james_palermo_bc208e463e4 profile image
James Palermo

Ever receive that contact?

Thread Thread
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

I did indeed! Just hit ya back!

Collapse
 
yuridevat profile image
Julia 👩🏻‍💻 GDE

This is such a great idea! I felt the same way a lot during my journey and I really wish this kind of app would have exist back then!
It is actually pretty hard to find someone not only be „interested“ in coding but also that hard working/learning like me.

Collapse
 
gmf002 profile image
George Fazio

Remote pairing is tolerable. But, there's nothing quiet like passing the keyboard back and forth in person. An ex-coworker had the IT department install two keyboards, mice, and an extra monitor that he mirrored. When we'd pair, one person sat at each keyboard/monitor and we'd just take turns writing code. He was big on TDD, so it was usually one person wrote a test, the other wrote the code, then another test and repeat. It flowed really well. I've yet to be on a remote pairing session that flowed as well as that.

So, maybe you're on to something here. :)

Collapse
 
robertgid profile image
RGID

It isn't quite the same, but things like VS Code Live Share can partially emulate that experience, letting you follow along and write code simultaneously.

Collapse
 
d7460n profile image
D7460N • Edited

Concur, pair programming can be very beneficial.

Often wished I knew of a community where I could find a like-minded software engineer to partner with for projects rather than finding an elusive needle in a haystack answer for every coding issue.

I know many devs who have great ideas but because they don't have the skills and or the time to build it all themselves, those great ideas never see the light of day.

To expand on your idea, you could have descriptions or selectable options for the project type and scope you want to develop, the developer you want to partner with, and the type of partnership you want.

For example, formal, informal, mentor, mentoree, expert, novice, noob, specific language support, strategy, design, best practices, long term, short term, open source, profit sharing, front-end, back-end, middle-ware, or just pitching ideas.

(Does sort of feel like what may be found in a dating app.. lol)

Thanks for writing this article.
Hope something comes of it.

Collapse
 
sasirekhamurakonda profile image
sasirekha • Edited

Enjoyed reading the article. Good idea actually.

Collapse
 
danielkv profile image
Daniel Guolo

Well, despite many communities around, I've never seen something that specific. I do think might be a good ideia! I'm really interested! If you have any interest on building a mvp, reach out. I'll leave my contact info in my profile.

Collapse
 
uzair004 profile image
Muhammad Uzair • Edited

Ben Awad (youtuber) created a VSCode extension kindda same product you are talking about, later sold it within weeks.

Collapse
 
james_palermo_bc208e463e4 profile image
James Palermo

Never heard of it.

Collapse
 
khokon profile image
Khokon M.

Award 😂😂😂😂

Collapse
 
uzair004 profile image
Muhammad Uzair

I mean Awad :D

Collapse
 
berviantoleo profile image
Bervianto Leo Pratama

This is a great idea. 🙂

Collapse
 
highflyer910 profile image
Thea • Edited

There is a VS Code extension already (Vsinder) made by Ben Awad: marketplace.visualstudio.com/items...
I have installed it and works fine, just not many devs know about it.

Collapse
 
james_palermo_bc208e463e4 profile image
James Palermo

That is much less targeted at finding people to work with on projects than what I have in mind. The "Tinder" reference in my title was not meant as literally as this vsinder implementation is.

Collapse
 
highflyer910 profile image
Thea

And here is the app for Android:)
play.google.com/store/apps/details...

Collapse
 
jankapunkt profile image
Jan Küster • Edited

And instead of a profile image you see a code snippet 😅

Collapse
 
maikomorales profile image
Maiko Morales Roman

I was thinking something like that lol

Collapse
 
robertgid profile image
RGID

Or maybe you could pick a few logos of your favorite technologies, apps, etc.

Collapse
 
domingosl profile image
Domingo

Maybe it does not exists yet because there is no apparent good monetization strategy for an app like this?

Collapse
 
james_palermo_bc208e463e4 profile image
James Palermo

Do you know how many lines of code have been written with zero interest in the return on investment they'll generate?

A whole lot. Like a lot a lot.

Collapse
 
domingosl profile image
Domingo

agree, many "lines of code", but I'm talking about products, not libraries or any open source projects. Can you mention a couple of products (related with this) that are successful with no business model or monetization strategy?

Thread Thread
 
james_palermo_bc208e463e4 profile image
James Palermo

Let’s just short circuit this conversation because I’m hung over:
I have at least a dozen themes for WebStorm and VSCode that have no monetization.
VSCode is just an editor. No money there.
run “pipx install bpytop” and enjoy a beautiful free and 10000% un-monetizable system status console.

Oh. And Debian. Ubuntu. OpenSuse. CentOS. Xu/Lu/etc*buntu.

The room is spinning. My argument is ….

Katy Perry is so pretty. And you’re wrong. 🧐

Collapse
 
tsbrun profile image
Anya Brun

I agree that it's more rewarding to learn with a friend. "Tinder for coding partners"; maybe you've found your next project idea?

Collapse
 
wrench1815 profile image
Hardeep Kumar

Great idea actually.... But i prefer to work alone. Can't deal with nuisance.

Collapse
 
ethand91 profile image
Ethan

Nice idea. Would be great to find local coders. :D

Collapse
 
tilakjain123 profile image
Tilak Jain

That's a great idea, I wish there was something like it.

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.