DEV Community

John Enad
John Enad

Posted on

Working on my Portfolio Website

After I had spent about an hour strategizing about blogging, I concluded that my time and energy would best be served by working on portfolio projects and writing about the various technologies and techniques applied to them as I'm developing them. This way, I end up with working projects which are something tangible and being able to actually share them instead of just writing about whatever random software-related stuff I happened to be dabbling with at the moment.

With that realization, I turned my focus on finally creating my own Portfolio website that serve as the gateway to future projects that I will working on. I figured that the fastest and best way to establish one would be by using whatever open source solution that was already available. I happened to find an amazing portfolio template that I particularly liked called developerFolio. It was created by a Pakistani software developer named Saad Pasta

It has saved me a lot of time because it is easy to setup, change and deploy. Although I haven't deployed it yet, I was able to commit an initial version to my github repository at: https://github.com/jenad88/johnenadFolio

So now, my next steps would be to deploy this website to maybe an S3 bucket and then start planning for projects to work on. The following are some of the possible things I will start really soon.

  • Hotel booking
  • Something involving Real Estate
  • E-Commerce-related modules
  • E-Learning application
  • Job Board
  • Image management application
  • Fiverr Clone
  • TaskRabbit clone
  • Spotify Clone
  • Youtube Clone

If you don't have a portfolio website and plan to create one, check out developerFolio and you'll have it done in an hour or two.

Image description

I'm going to work on deploying this soon. Shoutout and many thanks to Saad!

Top comments (0)