DEV Community

Cover image for What was your win this week?
Jess Lee
Jess Lee

Posted on

What was your win this week?

It's weekly retro time!

Looking back, what was something you're proud of?

All wins count -- big or small!

Examples of 'wins' include:

  • Getting to all your meetings on time
  • Starting a new project
  • Fixing a tricky bug
  • Cleaning your house...or whatever else that may spark joy 😄 🎉

Top comments (122)

Collapse
 
Sloan, the sloth mascot
Comment deleted
Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

Congratulations!!!

Collapse
 
andy profile image
Andy Zhao (he/him)

Congrats!

Collapse
 
____dave_ profile image
Dave Orleans

That is awesome !

Collapse
 
httpjunkie profile image
Eric Bishard

congratulations! Please write a blog here about your journey!

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

This week, I....managed to exercise every day! And got some awesome feedback from @peter :

You are almost always our “enough is enough, let’s just do this now” forcing function. In a great way.

Collapse
 
jbull328 profile image
John Bull

Awesome! Don't you love how exercise clears the mind and holistically benefits? I think I am now addicted to walks a couple times a day.

Collapse
 
hisega profile image
Jesse Gabriel

This week, I manage not to overwhelm myself and stretch myself too thin by saying 'no' at work.

Collapse
 
terabytetiger profile image
Tyler V. (he/him)

Nice! This is one of the skills that I wish I was a bit better at.

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

That is so important!

Collapse
 
andy profile image
Andy Zhao (he/him)

This week, I thought of a fun side project! Going to try to do it this weekend... stay tuned! ;)

Mandark from "Dexter's Laboratory" lets out an evil laugh.

Collapse
 
dance2die profile image
Sung M. Kim

I hope you wrote it down before you forget 😈😉

Collapse
 
annarankin profile image
Anna Rankin

This week, I... learned how to set up SSL, disable TLS 1.0, and update our DNS settings without taking down production!!!

omg

Collapse
 
denisrasulev profile image
Denis Rasulev

Gratz!! I am browsing basically the same waters (mostly SSL now), so any resources / links could be of a great help :) Once again - sincere congratulations :)

Collapse
 
annarankin profile image
Anna Rankin

I should note that I've essentially done this with training wheels since we're on Heroku 😂 Here are the resources I used to set this up:

General docs that have helped me as I voyage into networking:

Collapse
 
kgoutham93 profile image
Goutham Kolluru

Can you please run down the steps you've followed to achieve this.

Collapse
 
annarankin profile image
Anna Rankin

Sure! I'm using Heroku for this though, so a lot of the "hard stuff" was abstracted away. My basic process was like so:

  1. Follow instructions here to provision the endpoint: SSL Endpoint | Heroku Dev Center
  2. Download the existing key and certificate files from provider
  3. Add certificate to the correct application following instructions in link above
  4. TEST SSL ENDPOINT!!! Make sure it's available before moving on or you might get cert errors on production 🚨
  5. Once live, update CNAME record to point to the herokussl endpoint
  6. Use traceroute to check that domain resolves to the new SSL endpoint
  7. If all is well, remove any old/unused certificates using the heroku certs:remove command from the CLI
  8. Open a support ticket to disable TLS 1.0 support for the affected application
  9. Confirm that TLS 1.0 is disabled using either openssl or SSL Labs (takes much longer but is interesting)
Thread Thread
 
ashatat profile image
Ahmed Shatat

Hi Anna
I'm struggling with the same issue,
I meant to ask, what certificate providers did you use?
and does setting ssl-endpoint means that you have to renew it manually when the certificate expires?
and does this means that if our websites forces browser to use a secure connection that would be a down time if the certificate expires

I am new to this and I've read tons of articles which made me more confused

Collapse
 
rattanakchea profile image
Rattanak Chea

I built a snowman for the first time.
snowman

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

love it!

Collapse
 
gabe_ragland profile image
Gabe Ragland

A+

Collapse
 
aspittel profile image
Ali Spittel

This week, I.... made it through! Had a tough week with personal stuff on top of the stuff I normally do, and was stressed.

Collapse
 
jashgala profile image
Jash Gala

This week, I wrote an entire library with best practices and CI/CD in spite of high pressure from management and with a tight approaching deadline. Feels good at the end of the day to have done the right thing...

Collapse
 
cescquintero profile image
Francisco Quintero 🇨🇴

Congrats!

Collapse
 
haricharan profile image
Hari Padmanaban

This week, I managed to re-engineer a SQL job that was running for more than 6 hours and make it run in 10 minutes!

Collapse
 
kip13 profile image
kip

We need a POST about it

Collapse
 
haricharan profile image
Hari Padmanaban

Sure I would do that.

Collapse
 
terabytetiger profile image
Tyler V. (he/him)

Nice! That's some serious time saved!! 🔥

Collapse
 
jdmedlock profile image
Jim Medlock • Edited

This week, I replaced promise...then...catch with async/await in an app and took the time to throw relevant errors. It has made the code much easier to read. Next step is to add try/catch blocks to refine error handling.

I also ran 3 days this week (wish it would get warm! Hurry up Spring!)

Collapse
 
turnerj profile image
James Turner • Edited

This week, I managed to leave my job without turning into a big crying mess!

In all seriousness, it is more that I have progressed into fulltime work on my dream of running a Software Dev company.

Collapse
 
bogdaaamn profile image
Bogdan Covrig

This week, I finally finished my first post on dev.to. I still have to check it a few times and it will be ready to be published this weekend!

My first dev.to post

Collapse
 
bogdaaamn profile image
Bogdan Covrig
Collapse
 
drecali profile image
Andrei Calinescu

Felicitări!

Collapse
 
bogdaaamn profile image
Bogdan Covrig

Să fie!

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Woohoo, congrats!

Collapse
 
bogdaaamn profile image
Bogdan Covrig

Good jooooooob brooo

Collapse
 
_morgan_adams_ profile image
morgana • Edited

This week, I built out a workflow to patch a bunch of servers in parallel. Needs some brains still, but it's already going to save a couple days a month for whichever engineer has to roll out patches to our relatively large fleet.

I'm awesome gift

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

Sweet!

Collapse
 
shanalikhan profile image
Shan Khan

This week, I....managed to do 3 Days Water Fasting and lost about 2.5KG weight.

For those who keep working day at night by sitting on computer like me and cant go to gym should do Water fasting to lost weight.

Collapse
 
kelin1003 profile image
Kelin Chauhan • Edited

That's great progress! but also a bit risky, that's a drastic weight loss.
When we talk about weight loss we're supposed to lose the extra pounds lying around in form of fat. Often when water fasting we lose water, carbs and muscle mass. Im putting extra emphasis on muscle mass as it's very important. Hope you're taking these things in consideration :)

Collapse
 
shanalikhan profile image
Shan Khan

Yes, you are right. We need to keep electrolytes and other things inside body while doing water fasting. I tried to use sea salt and other methods to keep them inside.
Real magic happens when body fully transformed into ketosis mode.

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

Wow! How did you feel doing it?

Collapse
 
shanalikhan profile image
Shan Khan

First two days were tough, like very tough. Alot of headache, low energy.
Couldn't sleep the second night.

Third day was great, felt fresh like usual days and was ready to make it 5 days.

Collapse
 
terabytetiger profile image
Tyler V. (he/him)

This week, I.... updated my side project to be a PWA! It was a lot of fun looking into what was required and making the minor tweaks to get it going.

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

Nice!

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.